Playground Lesson

My schoolyard bullies

taught to spit out bloody teeth insults.

Collect them in my palm

and store them in my back pocket.

These words wouldn’t be sold

to the nearest tooth fairy,

but strung into a necklace.

Let the sarcasm rattle from mouth

as showing the world swagger

of upturned glares 

and rolled up fists.

Fighting words clang in throat

like loose nuts and rusted bolts.

Gather them there.

So when classmates pressed against skin

with sweaty palms and snap jaws

pushing me into battle marks,

I knew how to spit twisted metal

to sting at my bullies’ chalk outline egos,

before they plucked at my baby teeth.

Yanking my childhood with the force

balled up hands and skinned knees,

I understood the gravity the cruelty

as my first playground lesson.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.