Summer Broke

Summer broke against the horizon
And I could see the day dance
In shadows of couples
Hands clasped swaying
Radiating from the heat
And my mouth went dry
For nothing could describe
The shattered sky
With clouds swirling and the sun ricocheting
Within the irises of my eyes
You once told me
I held the world carefully
Tucked under my tongue
And at any moment it would escape
Or maybe it was just that
I could leave at any moment
Fall into the horizon
A dancing shadow
Or maybe you just wanted me
To feel important
So that when you became a shadow
I wouldn’t try to chase you

Leave a Reply

