Grass Stains

The grass held onto yesterday
Each minute, dew collected on each stem
So when I fell down, and slid down the hill
They gathered on my knees, tiny stains
Picking out the memories from palms
And when I got up, the past clung to my jeans
Dark lines streaked over the denim
And I could read your name, fresh
From my lips and our conversation hummed
In my ears, staining my tongue
Each response, a dark green gash over blue
The green smeared and spread
Bled out the voice, and yesterday
When you left, you wore green
So it filled my gaze, each step
I cried with tears falling, tiny drops
Dew collecting the next morning
And this summer I found your name
Stained on my knees

Leave a Reply

