30 Day Poetry Challenge Day 10-I Am Born From Fire

Day 10- Pick a one line song lyric to serve as an epigraph to your poem. Then, write the poem to accompany it.

Got a ringing in my ears getting ready to burst
Screaming “Hallelujah Motherfucker take me to church”
-I Like It Heavy-Halestorm

I am born from fire
So my skin erupts every Friday night
Right before the last shooting star
Grazes the sky
You can say I am intangible
A loose strand of hair wrapping around your finger
Slowly biting into your skin
I have sharp teeth
So I bite the night sky
And tear open its black until it consumes me
It hums under my tongue
And explodes into thunder
And I howl in the middle of the sidewalk
For I am not meant for concrete
Or a man’s hands
I am a tourist to both or maybe they are tourists of me
I am saying I find it easy to walk away
Chasing after shadows along unlit roads
Life roars in my ears and laughter tickles at my spine
I hold lightning in my eyes
The storm gathers in my soul
And I take flight

Leave a Reply

