30 Day Poetry Challenge Day 9-Three Shades of White

Day 9- Poetry/Prose Exercise – Write a poem or short prose story with the title, “Three Shades of White”.

A brisk morning
Where I am lost, locked out
Of my body
And I watch the sunrise
With short breaths
And smaller sentences
I find the edge of the world
It is sharp and likes to run
Its fingers along my back
Play my spine like a piano
And my voice a simple harmony
I am so pale
The morning can taste me
On stray clouds
Sweet, I linger upon the horizon
For a moment too long
And the sun can almost embrace me
I fall backwards
Into the dark ground
The shadows become greedy mouths
Devouring me slowly
Leaving only my teeth
Perfect three shades of white
Lost in the morning light

Leave a Reply

