30 Day Poetry Challenge Day 4-Paper Houses

Day 4- your sense of home

When my pencil meets paper

And the graphite starts to create

A picture of twirls and scribbles

And I settle myself

In a portrait of words, these syllables

Create my walls and the sentences

Are floors and pathways

I create a bed from the meaning

And the paragraphs of my imagination

Gripping this pencil, a guide

I have held majority of my life

The longest companion, we travel

And I know I can rely

On every motion of my wrist

So when I am writing, I go home

I find safety in the graphite scribbles

A security in every poem

For these words have been with me

Of all my life

Leave a Reply

