Coward (Repost November 2016)

Tongue is heavy in my mouth
Frustration balls up in my hands
The world weighs me down
And I do not say anything
Breaths catching in throat
Until anger pours out
Broken sentences and words
Hiss in whispers
As I am unable to move
Away from this corner
Watching the world fall apart
Crashing down in pieces
And I stand in the shadows
Holding everything in
And not picking up
Fallen souls
I crawl back home
Hide under the covers
And just wait for the fire to subside
Knowing the battlefield
Expands from the outside
To inside me

Leave a Reply

