Don’t Want to Grow Up

My house imploding
Into loose change and discarded receipts
And I am swimming
In miscellaneous markers of importance
That feeds on time
Slowly slipping down the drain
Of meticulous routine
And I can say
These pennies and paper
Aren’t worth my seconds
So I leave my bed unmade
And dishes lingering in the sink
To run away each day
A little escape
Into an adventure of open roads
And empty places
Outside my personal prison
Adulthood
And I can say
I am not good at growing up
So I don’t
Instead reinvent each day
Around the obstacle course
Of insignificant souvenirs
And long lists of responsibility
For I still hold some childhood magic
In my fingertips
And when I type I fly

Leave a Reply

