The Word Goodbye

The tears came
An uninvited quest
My lashes tried to slap them away
The constant blinking
Only made the exit come sooner
My heart shattered
In the word goodbye
Fear found itself in
With long spindly fingers
Clinched my spine tightly
Until cries cracked from my lips
Crumbled to the floor
Rocking to the offbeat rhythm of my heart
Vacated, hope took faith with it
Left with an outline of progress
And the inability to further it
I broke apart
With the word goodbye
A chalk outline smeared in fear and despair

Leave a Reply

