Sweat (Repost July 2016)

It clings to me like a bad conversation

I try to avoid it, but it finds me in the summer heat

I keep changing

Pulling off every layer to try to remove it

It is stubborn and the stench of the memories is strong

I drink to forget, to cool off my emotions

It is too late

For it is already there, beading upon my skin

Sliding down my temple

Collecting in the small of my back

These disputes, these arguments weighing me down

Until I am sticky and uncomfortable

Whenever you are around

And I spend the night

Washing your memory from my body

Leave a Reply

