Mother

I put one more blanket
Upon my son
And I watch him sleep
And this is home for me
A force rumbles inside me
More powerful than an earthquake
And I know it is love for my son
He is my biggest responsibility and gift
And the word mother
Creates the word protector and hero
For this is the world I live in
Creating a sanctuary for his safety
Untying the obstacles
And teaching him the truth
About the monsters under the bed
The word mother
Means a great deal to me
Brings the world to a halt
When he cries it
And within seconds
I am larger than myself
For the word mother
Is a universe
That I share with my son

Leave a Reply

