Shadow Memories

Shifting my shadow into the corner
I rebuild my reflection
Into the bottom of a glass
Until it runs over into a paperback book
And the final chapter
Fills up with my words
Lingering upon my dry tongue
And with every breath
I release another ghost
In wisps of dust and fog
I settle into the library of my soul
Fumbling through volumes of memories
Pages turning quickly, projecting
My outline over the wall
And in my eye
I can see my shadow
Overlapping the light
And my adventures become nothing
More than old receipts and ticket stubs

Leave a Reply

