Hung Over Sober

I woke up exhausted
Hung over sober
As if life
Had kept giving me
Shots of adrenaline and excitement
And by the fifth rollercoaster
I knew it was way passed the time
For me to go home
So my body hung on unruly bones
Creaking and scraping
Threatening to throw me to the floor
They had warned me several times
It would change the locks
And not let me in the front door
Leaving me a jittery mess on the stoop
Knocking and waiting for home
Shouting let me in
As I crumbled to the floor

Leave a Reply

