My Hands Ache

My hands ache
From carrying
All these emotions
I am afraid
To be sad or angry
For it isn’t acceptable
To let your mouth
Droop into a frown
To allow your body
To tremble
For weakness is devoured
So ball up these emotions
The grey of my grief
The black of my pain
The red of my anger
Grip them tightly
Until my knuckles are red
And my palms are bruised
With tiny indents
From my fingertips
They shake slightly, my hands
But not enough to be noticed
Beyond the curve of my smile

Leave a Reply

