Through Her Darkness

12797736_191112897929611_2082451562_n

She looked through her darkness
As though she could see me
Her pain, the makeup of her face
Carefully applies each day
A mask she molds from the grief and thoughts
For she sees, the monster inside
And as she watches me
Stalking my every motion along the edges
Waiting for the right moment
To pounce and devour my shadow
Consume all my pain, chew up my happiness
So I have to watch her, look her in the eyes
For her darkness, has made her into a predator
It clings to her face, bone and fang
This disguise is her history, and I
A fragment in this narrative
Counting down the seconds
Until my reflection takes me back

Leave a Reply

