Fading Summer

Children shouting and playing outside my window
Hints of summer still linger behind
While autumn starts to lay down her blanket
Preparing for the show
The trees have begun to shift and change
And another year is quickly coming to an end
I feel like I have been standing still
While the world swirls and spins around me
Lost in a globe, I keep trying to shake
So many loose ends I have to tie together
In hopes they make a perfect knot
Bundling up my year, so many experiences
Piling up around me, overflowing
Off the table onto the floor
And I prepare the photo album in my mind
Hoping not one moment is lost
To another fading summer

Leave a Reply

