Running

Running is my tongue
and I am unable to catch up
for the emotions
barter away common sense
and I really want to say
I love you
to a complete stranger
for your name is now unknown to me
but your memory
harbors my secret
and wrings me out
until I am nothing more than a spot
a place to put your feet
to keep yourself warm
and my tongue
betrays me first
along with the quiver of my voice
for when you say hello to me
after five months
I am still cracking
and I realize all the super glue
of ten second inspirational quotes
can’t hold me together
and you know that
so you keep walking
leaving me breaking on the sidewalk
once more

Leave a Reply

