The Work Week Pt. 2

The pressure builds behind the eyes
And the bridge of my nose cold
Monday chilled my face
Until a stoic expression replaced my smile
And I knew the work week had returned
With an icy grip shaking my limbs
Twisting my energy around long spindly fingers
It was cruel, the work week
A lover that wouldn’t let you go
Stalking you every week until you trapped
In this routine of pounding fingers
Sometimes, I daydreamed
Remembered when the work week
Had a kind and lovely smile
And I couldn’t wait to see how the day unfolded
We both grew, up and apart
I kept trying to delete the number
But every week the voicemail was there
A shrilling alarm screaming by me ear
Rattling me awake and chilling my bones

Leave a Reply

