Recharge

On boycott today
Threw in the towel
And my clothes on the floor
Saturated in bad television
My day would be marked with
A to-do list for the end of next month
Going to take a moment
To just breathe in the moments
Threw down the chores
Grabbed a book, a pencil, a keyboard
Indulged my inner teenager
And spent the day doing nothing
But lying in bed
And daydreaming about faraway places
Relaxation, an art form often confused with laziness
And either way we were told to feel guilty
For a taking a moment and stopping
So lurched to a stop
Closed the curtains, locked the door
Slipped back on the pajamas
And binge watched every meaningless show
Allowing my body, my mind to recharge
And giving my creative side free reign today

Leave a Reply

