Reflection in a Mirror

I fell asleep to the soft hum of my thoughts
Daydreams tickling, tucking themselves behind my ears
Pushed them aside, loose strands of memories
Replaying in my dreams in choppy dance moves
Stopping and moving with a flashy backlight
And I saw myself within a cracked mirror
Aged lines tugging at my eyes, and my mouth strained with a frown
Unhappiness introduced itself to me
Followed the fine line fractures etched into my reflection
And wondered if I broke the mirror
Then would have a chance to be happy
Freeing myself from the stationary routine
Change nagged at me, a little shadow tugging at my feet
To move, to walk away, and take the time
To rediscover me, and no longer be a broken reflection in a mirror

Leave a Reply

