Beach Ball

I feel slightly deflated
From months of rain and cold
Hiding behind closed curtains
Wrapping myself in blankets
So when summer comes
The sun shines through the cracks in the blinds
The ground thaws and flowers bloom
I step out into the sunlight
Skipping with every step
I have the need to see the sea
Nestle my feet in the warm sand
Watching seagulls sway in the wind
I remember the ocean and the beaches
And the days I spent making sand castles
Leaving sand matted under nails
And the taste of salt upon my tongue
In the summer, my youth delivers
Every memory of chasing waves and searching for seashells
I feel full once again, I feel light
I feel alive

Leave a Reply

