The Start of the Work Week

Carefully placed mask
And a tall glass of coke
I am ready
To greet this artificial world
Digesting the preservative propaganda
Allowing it to bite at my pride
For it only burns a little, going down
Tilt my head to the right
So everyone thinks I am listening
That I am present, a team player
While daydream I am flying
Or I am floating
In a pool surrounded by bright happy people
With no shackles of routine
Independence is a creation
I keep trying to complete every Sunday night
In hopes Monday
Disappears

Leave a Reply

