Remember My Name

I will pretend
That you remember my name
You remember my face
That I am more than an outline
In a memory
More than a check mark
I pretend
We run into each other
And actually talk
That you actually care about me
And in turn I listen to you
I pretend
I am able to fall apart in front of you
And you will not ridicule me
That you keep my pieces from hitting the ground
You take a moment
To listen to me
Hear my story
I pretend
We are friends not acquaintances
That you are more than a shadow
Haunting my city
Leaving in my memories
That you aren’t
One of the many that make me feel unloved
And forgettable
I pretend
That you remember my name

Leave a Reply

