Traffic Jam

Traffic are these words
Stalling on the highway
Of my mouth
Ideas, sirens wailing in my head
Until my ears are suffering
From a collision of sentences
My tongue is stuck
And you expect me to say hello
To recite you my security
With speed and accuracy
But my hands
Linger upon the wheel
Want to jerk my body into a wall
Over a cliff of conscious choices
Until I am running away
From everything
For my anxiety has no space
On the traffic report
And I am scared to tell you
I don’t feel safe
I am unable to give you
The okay
The report will continue to be blank
To mirror the numbness
I have playing on repeat
In the tape deck
These word are pausing
Until exhaust collects in wrinkles
And broken sentences

Leave a Reply

