Writing (National Poetry Month Challenge 30)

Write a poem giving thanks to a poet or to writing a poem a day. Use a line from one of the poems
you wrote this month to either begin or end it.

A script of strangers
I found myself lost in the story
Each poem, a character
And writing became a stage
Leaving my fingers lost in sentences
And me wondering the outline

Atwood said you don’t have to be perfect
Bradbury said the only failure was to stop
Patchett said write yourself another life
King said write one word at a time

So I struggled to find the moment
The language to write
For each idea was precious
And time my enemy
Ticking away inspiration
And I began to forget

Wordsworth said follow your heart
Woolf said to write about what you want was all that matters
Fitzgerald said write about what made people ashamed
Brooks said writing was magical

Tapping my fingertips
Words stuck upon my tongue
And I spent the night pacing
With paragraphs clogging my lungs
And my hands unable to breathe

And brought back to high school, I remembered
A local author named Keran
She told me if you loved the words, the language
Then the struggle was worth it.

Stood in the middle of the room
With words swarming my feet
Crawling up the walls, and the room
Merged and transformed
Into a timeless language of allegories
Haunting my mouth

Leave a Reply

