Lazy Day

A lazy day tackles me from behind
Pins me down and soon
I find myself spending the day in bed
Curling up in my blanket
Letting the minutes drift away in daydreams
The chores and tasks pile up
And I watch them
Slowly stack themselves upon each other
Until they tower over me
And my lazy day tucks me in
Pulls the blankets over my head
So I don’t have to recognize responsibility
And listen to its nagging
Poking at me to get up
Some days
It is simply okay to turn off the world
And go back to bed

Leave a Reply

