The Everlasting Battle to Find Myself (National Poetry Month Challenge 22)

Write a poem that only had five syllables in each line. Give the poem a long title.

Listened to quiet
Roaring in my ears
Lost myself today
Among the alleys
I flew away and
Disappeared in
The shadows looming
Empty boxes blocked
My view and I hummed
A song that retold
Me in wordless ideas
Rekindled passion
In fingertips and
Skyscrapers over
The city like clouds
I fell away from the
Street into air
Flew away today
I missed myself
So I took to sky
Sang a song to find
The freedom I had
And now I was lost
With the quiet humming
In my ears and blood

Leave a Reply

