Cranberry Vodka (National Poetry Month Challenge 17)

Write a poem that includes these words: bamboozled, bloodlust, bibliography. Have the title include one of these words: contradiction, constellation, cranberry.

You tell me I need

An annotated bibliography

To account for all my emotions

Slam back a shot then another

And I know I had been bamboozled again

With all your compliments and fine chatter

You are a salesmen for chaos

I should have read the fine print before coming

To be greeted by your apathetic mouth and scathing eyes

Bloodlust, you drink in tall glasses of red and pink

Tilting your head back and pouring in all your rage

And I know I shouldn’t have come

Watching you sway upon your barstool

Back and forth with arms wiggling and threatening

To grab hold of me one more time

Never quite through with me, I feel your words digging in

Cruelty has a home in your face, and disorder manifests in your body

I am lost in your storm for at least one more night

Leave a Reply

