Cloud Anxiety

I wanted to pull back the clouds

And climb in, under their soft down

Lay on the blue sky

Until it dyed my back in the colors of sunset

And the sun would warm my body

For I have been cold

For so long

Dripping, soggy in loneliness

Needed to close my eyes and sleep

Away from the layers of gray

Hovering close to my door

Left my feet wet

Mucked in my dreams

And I couldn’t shed the feeling

I had been missing out on something

It weighed upon my tongue

Gripped at my spine

Until I hunched over from the pressure

And unable to breathe

I struggled to smile, to speak

Left only to look up

At the rolling clouds

I wished I could wrap myself in them

And disappear

Leave a Reply

