Your Name (National Poetry Month Challenge 8)

20160424_235807.jpg

Turn your paper so that it’s in the landscape position. Write a poem about God or the universe or
the horizon of the ocean with longer lines and see what happens.

The poem reads:

You left me standing at the edge
the ocean remained calm
pulling at me
with every wave
your name building
like a lullaby
these memories
moving back and forth
behind closed eyes
pulling me deeper
and deeper
drowning
I was drowning
in your ocean
you left me standing
at the edge
of your name
falling
deeper and deeper in
and you remained calm
while I drowned
singing your name

Leave a Reply

