Everyone Is A Hero (National Poetry Month Challenge 2)

Write about a poem about a superhero coming to your house and confronting you about
something. Somewhere in the poem, you have to state what your superpower is.

He flew through my door
With a bright red cape
And some letter from the alphabet
Tattooed on his chest
Staring me down
I felt him turning me inside out
And I became caught upon his sneer
His mouth became unhinged
Out bellowed statements, accusations
Sent me flying, stumbling back
He had a checklist
In the outline of my body
Circling and checking
Every crack, every flaw
Until he pinned me against the wall
Within his scrutiny
I saw every exe in his eyes
Storming and waging war
In sharp little sentences
Unfolding into a master plan of blame
My mouth cracked with pleas, explanations
Crumbling against deaf ears
I licked my lips, nervously
As I watched his lips peel back
Showing perfectly manicured fangs
He leaned forward for a bite
To bestow a blessing
I leaned forward and pressed my lips
Against his cruel mouth
And allowed my worth to seep in
Melting into his skin, invading his veins
Satisfaction lingered upon my smile
As I watched he crumble to the floor
Gradually dissipating into ash and smoke
For self-worth was always stronger than popular acceptance

Leave a Reply

