Librarian (Repost January 2016)

The trivial is my forte
And I am always pursuing the tiniest details
Aligning them properly in my head
My mind, shelves and shelves of novels
Memories pressed between pages like dried flowers
I close my eyes
I disappear into a meadow of words
Research is my strength
I have always been able to recall
The side comments of a conversation
Alphabetize them in my brain
Slivers of memories, I check out daily
Sharing them with dog-eared thoughts
And scribbled with highlights
If you promise to take care of them
Return them in a timely manner
I will let you inspect every element
Each one is an exclusive volume
And I am the only one
That holds my thoughts, dreams
These memories
I organize with care
Line them up one by one evenly
In rows and rows of experiences
And they all are mine

Leave a Reply

