Day One of Growing Up (Repost June 2015)

And when you finally fly away
I’ll be hoping that I served you well
For all the wisdom of a lifetime
No one can ever tell

But whatever road you choose
I’m right behind you, win or lose
Forever Young, Forever Young

—Forever Young by Rod Stewart

I remember the moment

My mother left and I was alone

The silence rung in my ears

Until my breathing deafened me

The first moment

I realized I was alone

In a world of lecture halls and libraries

Miles of wheat fields

And my mother was three hundred miles away

The fear tickled fingertips

And the knowledge I would need to start

Finding my own way

Crept up my spine

I stood in the middle of one room

Of hundreds in the dormitory

I realized I was alone

This was the first moment

In the art of growing up

I was my own wings

Time for me to stretch my arms

And open my door

To the big bad world

Leave a Reply

