Fractured Sky (Repost May 2015)

The clouds broke the blue sky

Until the sun flooded me

I coughed up the last overcast thought

Creating small puffs with every letter

So they only fogged my eyes for a second

The light crashed though

Blinding me

No longer limited by my height

For once, I reached up

Skimming fingertips along the fractured edges of the sky

Twisting the clouds between my fingers

Until they caught under my nails

Thunderstorms threatened my fingertips

My hands danced, and I joined

Spinning around and around

Falling, I reached up to the fractured sky

Blue smudged my palms and the edges were sharp

Cutting my fingertips

Bent my head down, licking my wounds

Salt and copper, these were my words

No longer limited by my height

For I had touched the sky

Leave a Reply

