I Land

The days are a constant gray
Washing out the background
Until I feel two dimensional
Tracing my body like a map
I am an island in a crowded street
I alone govern my well being
And as the world crashes against my shores
I think I am eroding
Breaking down to a statistic
My arms and legs becoming negotiable territories
Unkempt fences collapsing, twisting into knots
As the world continues to invade
Over and over, stepping on and over me
I am falling away
Falling into the constant gray
War torn, my outline
Every stitch a new wall, barrier
A boundary I must fortify
For I am falling apart
For I am an island in a crowded street
Being trampled
Until I am one of a number
A statistic without a name or a history
I am excusable
I alone govern my well being
Right now, my emotions are rioting
Overthrowing the outline of my body
Fracturing me into pieces
That I am trying to hold together
Behind a two dimensional
As I stand alone in a crowded room
And the world roaring in my ear

2 thoughts on “I Land

Leave a Reply

