Seasonal Binge

Winter was still caught in my teeth
The taste of stale water and dust
Filled my mouth, cracking my lips
And making my tongue limp
The rain had come, whispering about spring
Promised me something sweet to drink
And I needed to go on a seasonal binge
Wanted to throw out my slush covered opinions
And to discard my mourning gear
I craved to bathe in the sunlight
Pressing fresh petals to my skin
I needed to go on a seasonal binge
Purging the winter layered film
Covering my eyes
I demanded to howl after the setting sun
Stalking the streets
Until I pounced in every puddle
Following this frenzy erupting in my veins
I needed to go on a seasonal binge
Redecorating myself
Peeling away last year for with spring
I could start anew
Pulling winter out of my voice
Allowing the rain to rejuvenate and refresh
My crippled tongue
I needed to go on a seasonal binge
Intoxicated with every sunrise
Stumbling over my feet
As I learned to stand and explore this world
Once again

Leave a Reply

