Word-logged

Words saturate my skin
Spilling out my mind
Until I am submerged
Into a pool of ideas
Grasping at sentences
Trying to stay afloat
For I am drowning
In my own thoughts
Overflowing until I am sick
Each word weighs upon
My shoulders
Drawing me down, down
Until my arms
Are limp with creativity
And frustration
Makes a home in my fingers
Feeling soggy, the alphabet
Drips off me
Lethargic, my mind sleeps
And soon I am dreaming
With words swirling around me
Ideas breaking apart
And reassembling
Over and over again
So I wake up lost
Unable to regain the thoughts
Holding me hostage
The previous day
Word-logged
Is worse than
Writer’s block
For so much to say
But unable to catch
Every idea
Before it makes a getaway
Leaving unfinished stories, projects
And me
Furiously trying to stitch
Them together
But I cannot sew
So in the end
They are incomplete
With jagged edges
Giving me paper cuts
Tiny bites
These words
Are so needy

Leave a Reply

