Candlelight Dinner

I show up in candlelight
Upon a platter
Serve myself up
So you can feast on all these lies
Collecting in the curve of my smile
For we are willing to swallow
Down salt water
If love is used to describe it
Let you chisel away my ribcage
Your voice grates upon my skin
Like a fork and knife
As you dig deeper and deeper
Carving your name
Picking away everything
You choose to see
Calling me a pretty, pretty
Piece of meat
While in candlelight
Hides my tears in the shadow of your greed
My name is an appetizer for your tongue
As you turn me into a five course meal
Leaving me hollow in the end
Instead of feeling accepted

Leave a Reply

