Pieces of Goodbye (Inspired by X Ambassadors)

Hold, hold on, hold onto me
‘Cause I’m a little unsteady
A little unsteady
Hold, hold on, hold onto me
‘Cause I’m a little unsteady
A little unsteady

If you love me, don’t let go
–“Unsteady” by X Ambassadors

The word
Goodbye
Is broken and falling
Around me
Each letter
Catching and tugging
On my arms
Until I teeter
Left and right
Swaying drunk
In your rejection
I keep revisiting
Over and over
In my head
Until everyone
Worries
For my balance
My mental
Escaping
Into fights
That happened over
Three years ago
I still see
You
In the doorway
Your smile
My heart
Creaks and cracks
Until the pieces
Spell
Goodbye
Again and again
I greet
Strangers
In the mirror
And maybe
The search
Hasn’t been for you
For a replacement
But for me
And a foundation

Leave a Reply

