Reason (Inspired by Portishead)

I’m so tired of playing
Playing with this bow and arrow
Gonna give my heart away
Leave it to the other girls to play
For I’ve been a temptress too long

Just…

Give me a reason to love you
Give me a reason to be a woman
I just wanna be a woman
—“Glory Box” by Portishead

Leave the games on the curb
Along with your half used excuses
And your broken expectations

Baggage is expected
For this is a journey
And we are both exploring
The outline of our insecurities

I need you to hear me
Not only listen
For the background noise is loud
I need you to know
I am ready

For a change
And I see the lists of attributes
You are trying to sell
But I don’t need stories, only the truth
And I am ready to let down the walls
If you give me a reason

My love is a temple
That I will prepare it for you daily
And we will worship our flaws
In the perfection of our conversation
So our hands will have as much understanding as our ears

There will be no need for games
With all the phony money and dice
Chance is in a smile, and a name
Collects upon lips

So leave the games at the curb
Along with the lists and gilded cage
For I am ready to love, but you need to give me a reason

Leave a Reply

