Memory Pinned

Morning caught in my eye
As your name rested upon my chest
Weighing down the day
Pinned under your memory
I struggled to twist and turn
To get out of my bed
Under your thumb, you pressed
Me deeper into the mattress
The pain creaked in my bones
And the pressure of you
Continuously showing up
In my dreams, in the morning
In the weekend, at work
Bullied me
Into the fetal position
On a Saturday morning
And afraid I had let you win after all
And I wondered
When does the memory of you
Finally let me
Rest in peace

Leave a Reply

