He Was Summer (first published on my blog September 2015)

He was gone
Before the coffee was done
He always said summer was his gig
So pulled up his tent spikes
Chased after the sun
Left me to ponder
The coming of the reds, yellows
Orange would always remind me
Of his smile
So took in his memory
With every sip of coffee
Realizing, I had reached the time
Where I wanted stability over his adventure
So I would let him run
And read the morning paper
For he would always be summer
While my life was settling into autumn

Leave a Reply

