Unhinge (first published on my blog January 2015)

Unhinge my jaw

So head can snap back

Swallow down the sky

Trying not to choke

On every passing cloud

The only way to catch a dream

Is to consume someone else’s

Every thought and action

So unsnap my ethics and morals

To make it easier

To sink my teeth in

Crunch down their bones

Resistance is hard

When there are no hands

To grab at your throat

I will let my tongue

Slither out the details

Wrap around the correct phrases

Until everything sounds right

With a hissing undertone

So unhinge my jaw

To swallow up the world

For sometimes

You have to devour others

To make your dreams happen

Leave a Reply

