See (first published on my blog August 2014)

Can you see me?

 

Caught behind the cage

Of your expectations

I want you to see me

As more than a wounded bird

Flopping helplessly around

Each one of your I love yous

Collect myself in blue eyes

I want you to see

Every sentence

Swirling around and around in my gaze

I rattle my ideas

Against your one dimensional accusations

Until I am shaking your motives

Everything cracks under the right gaze

And my voice is my declaration

For you never owned me

In your shadow cage

I want you to see me

Unleashed and out of bounds

Scratching at your skin

Until my gaze pricks at you

Teasing at your ears

 

Can you see me?

 

07292014 492

Leave a Reply

