Pins and Needles (first published on blog October 2014)

Woke up with a gasp

For the day

Stung at me

In mini pricks and pokes

Felt the numbness

Erupting into life

Alive, my soul is coming alive

When apathy coated my skin

Weighed me down, asleep

Eyes opened

Colors filtering in

Little fingertips dancing along my spine

Until I breathed

Awake, my lungs

Filled with fresh air

I screamed out my thoughts

And memories gathered at my feet

I knew it was time

For me to wake up

Shook off the numbness

Pulled away the apathy

And gasped, for I was alive

Leave a Reply

