Black Coffee and Cotton Candy (first published on my blog March 2014)

He tasted of black coffee and smelled of cotton candy

He gave me quite a rush

And told me he would be the greatest carnival of my life

He was right

For every game he had me play left me breathless

With any addiction, the craving only gets stronger

I wanted to be wrapped up in his arms

Kiss him until he stained my mouth

Become tangled within his soul

 

He tasted of black coffee and smelled of cotton candy

He made me shake and shiver

And told me he would be the greatest mystery of my life

He was right

For every sentence he had a different ending leaving me curious

With any fascination, the interest is easily defined by obsession

I wanted to see trapped within his gaze every sunrise

Crash into his embrace every sunset

Become a love story in his heart

 

He tasted of black coffee and smelled of cotton candy

He never stopped surprising me

And he told me he would be the greatest rush of my life

He was right

For every day he had me tripping over my own feet

He was there to catch me with each every fall

I wanted to linger in his warmth

Hold him close until I smell him upon my skin

I will always love black coffee and cotton candy

Leave a Reply

