Poet (first published on my blog September 2013)

Close my eyes and I will build this world with words

Let the letters crawl from my skin

Until my intentions are sentences constructing city blocks

I want to show you a rainbow built completely from exclamation marks

Clutter the sidewalks with verbs and nouns

Rummaging through them for words are for sale

Always a bargain when sentences are short and sweet

So want to build this world with words

Let the paragraphs stain my fingertips

Until random thoughts linger in crosswalks

Sentences, emotions, metaphors become jammed

Clogging up these paper highways

I want to show you a skyscraper colored in vowels

Steep windows reflecting this world I have designed

Wordsinger, I will be singing for my supper on any corner

Painting the city within each syllable and enunciation

Close my eyes and I will build this world within sentences

Let the letters jangle into my donation cup

Until each dance, each step creates a story

I want to show this world built with the alphabet

Show the strength with each bend of cursive typography

Close your eyes, and enter my world

Leave a Reply

