Love Poem #30 (first published on my blog July 30)

Must be so hard

To be a god

Even if it is only

In your own mind

Never understood

What drew me in

Maybe it was the shallow smile

Expressionless eyes

Or I thought I could soar

In your pretty lies and heart shaped mouth

Paper pedestals crumble in due time

I watched as you fell under the weight of your ego

Now you are running, running

Chased by your own demons

Carefully formulated from your words

Twisted into ghosts

Always howling in your ear

No matter the liquor or the bodies you possess

Never quite free

So I ponder

Whatever did I see in you

Cowering in your corner

Holding your broken crown

Guess you were never a god

But just another fool

Entertaining the masses

As you mastered the artistry of being alone

One thought on “Love Poem #30 (first published on my blog July 30)

Leave a Reply

