Raining Minutes (first published on blog February 2013)

Time dangles from our fingers

Filters through and I found the minute

I finally heard you

Voice echoing in the rain

And found myself tucked in the corner

Outline caught in the overcast sky

It is awkward

Sitting across from each other

With one half empty glass and one half full glass

Watching our silhouettes interact

I could almost replay our history this afternoon

Lean back you tell me

Arms around me, you pull me close

And I remember the moment I heard you

Mesmerizing is the rain

And I feel like I am falling from the sky

And I don’t flap my arms to try to fly

Let myself spiral down, down

You pluck me from the sky and pull me close

Time dangling from our fingertips

Filter through and found the minute

I finally heard you

The rain has a soft lullaby

The melody is your name

You hold me close

Outline caught in the overcast

It is awkward

Sitting in each other’s arms

One foot caught and the other touching the floor

Always been skittish you told me

Feel you have to hold me close

Watching the sun lingering on the horizon

Time filters through fingers

Until I find the minute

I heard you

Leave a Reply

