Someday (first published May 2012)

Someday,
I will be beautiful
In someone’s eyes
And I will be able to look
At myself in the mirror
And see possibility and no finality

Someday,
I will be loved
By someone else’s hand
And I will know what security
To be safe in my own skin
And be safe walking home

Someday,
I will be understood
By someone else
That I don’t have to doubt
Every step I take
And every word I speak

I know I will never be a grand beauty
And I will always be plain
That I will never be a snowflake
And be one of kind

But someday,
I will be someone else’s treasure
And not a second rate bargain bin find

Even if that someone,
Isn’t you.

One thought on “Someday (first published May 2012)

Leave a Reply

